



#### **Planning Commission of India**

The Planning Commission of India was an institution established in 1950 with the aim of formulating Five-Year Plans for the country's economic development. It served as the central planning body that coordinated and assessed various economic and social policies in India.

The Planning Commission consisted of a chairman, who was usually the Prime Minister of India, and several members, including representatives from various government departments, economists, and experts from different fields. The commission played a key role in formulating national plans, setting targets for various sectors, and allocating resources accordingly.

After the Twelfth Five-Year Plan (2012-2017), the Government of India ceased the Five-Year Plans and introduced a new think tank organization known as the NITI Aayog. The primary focus of the Niti Aayog is on long-term planning and sustainable development goals.

#### भारताचे नियोजन आयोग

भारताचे नियोजन आयोग ही 1950 मध्ये देशाच्या आर्थि<mark>क विका</mark>सासा<mark>ठी पंचवार्षि</mark>क योजना तयार करण्याच्या उद्देशाने स्थापन केलेली संस्था होती. भारतातील विविध आर्थिक आणि सामाजि<mark>क धोरणांचे</mark> समन्वय आणि मूल्यांकन करणारी केंद्रीय नियोजन संस्था म्हणून या संस्थेने काम केले.

नियोजन आयोगामध्ये एक अध्यक्ष, जे सहसा भारताचे पंतप्रधान होते आणि अनेक सदस्य, ज्यामध्ये विविध सरकारी विभागांचे प्रतिनिधी, अर्थशास्त्रज्ञ आणि विविध क्षेत्रातील तज्ञांचा समावेश होता. राष्ट्रीय योजना त<mark>यार करण्यात</mark>, विविध क्षेत्रांसाठी लक्ष्य निश्चित करण्यात आणि त्यानुसार संसाधनांचे वाटप करण्यात आयोगाने महत्त्वाची भूमिका बजावली.

बाराव्या पंचवार्षिक योजनेनंतर (2012-20<mark>17), भारत सरकारने पंचवार्षिक योजना बंद केल्या</mark> आणि NITI आयोग म्हणून ओळखल्या जाणाऱ्या नवीन थिंक टॅंकची संस्था सुरू के<mark>ली. निती आयोगा</mark>चे प्राथमिक लक्ष <mark>दीर्घकालीन नियो</mark>जन आणि शाश्वत विकास लक्ष्यांवर आहे.

#### **Planning Commission Structure**

Under the overall supervision of the National Development Council, the Planning Commission was chaired by the Prime Minister as its Chairman. The Planning Commission was headed by a Deputy Chairman, who was appointed by the Prime Minister of India. The Deputy Chairman was supported by full-time members, who were experts in various fields such as economics, industry, agriculture, education, health, and infrastructure.

In addition to the full-time members, the Planning Commission also had part-time members, who were appointed from various states, union territories, and specialized fields. The part-time members provided the commission with inputs and feedback on the development needs of their respective areas and sectors.





The Planning Commission also had a Secretariat, which was responsible for providing administrative and technical support to the commission. The Secretariat was headed by a Secretary, who was a senior civil servant appointed by the government.

#### नियोजन आयोगाची रचना

- राष्ट्रीय विकास परिषदेच्या संपूर्ण देखरेखीखाली, नियोजन आयोगाचे अध्यक्ष पंतप्रधान होते. नियोजन आयोगाचे अध्यक्ष उपाध्यक्ष होते, ज्याची नियुक्ती भारताच्या पंतप्रधानांनी केली होती.
- अर्थशास्त्र, उद्योग, कृषी, शिक्षण, आरोग्य आणि पायाभूत सुविधा अशा विविध क्षेत्रातील तज्ञ असलेल्या पूर्णवेळ सदस्यांनी उपाध्यक्षांना पाठिंबा दिला.
- पूर्णवेळ सदस्यांव्यतिरिक्त, नियोजन आयोगामध्ये अर्धवेळ सदस्य देखील होते, ज्यांची नियुक्ती विविध राज्ये, केंद्रशासित प्रदेश आणि विशेष क्षेत्रातून करण्यात आली होती.
- अर्धवेळ सदस्यांनी आयोगाला आपापल्या क्षेत्रांच्या आणि क्षेत्रांच्या विकासाच्या गरजांबद्दल माहिती आणि अभिप्राय प्रदान केला.
- नियोजन आयोगाचे एक सचिवालय देखील होते, जे आयोगाला प्रशासकीय आणि तांत्रिक सहाय्य पुरवण्यासाठी जबाबदार होते.
- सिचवालयाचे प्रमुख सिचव होते, जो सरकारने नियुक्त केलेला वरिष्ठ नागरी सेवक होता.

### **List of Planning Commission Chairman**

Here is a list of the Chairman who served the Planning Commission at different times.

Planning Commission Chairman	Year of Service
Jawaharlal Nehru	1950
Gulzarilal Nanda	1967-1969
D. P. Dhar	1969-1971
Yashwantrao Chavan	1971-1977
Durgabai Deshmukh	1977-1980
C. Subramaniam	1980-1982
Pranab Mukherjee	1982-1984
Rajiv Gandhi	1984-1989
V. P. Singh	1989-1990
P. V. Narasimha Rao	1990-1991
Manmohan Singh	1991-1996
Inder Kumar Gujral	1997-1998
Atal Bihari Vajpayee	1998-2004
Manmohan Singh	2004-2014
Narendra Modi	2014-2015

नियोजन आयोगाच्या अध्यक्षांची यादी

नियोजन आयोगाच्या वेगवेगळ्या वेळी काम केलेल्या अध्यक्षांची यादी येथे आहे.

नियोजन आयोगाचे अध्यक्ष	वर्ष
जवाहरलाल नेहरू	1950





गुलझारीलाल नंदा	1967-1969
डी. पी. धर	1969-1971
यशवंतराव चव्हाण	1971-1977
दुर्गाबाई देशमुख	1977-1980
सी. सुब्रमण्यम	1980-1982
प्रणव मुखर्जी	1982-1984
राजीव गांधी	1984-1989
व्ही.पी. सिंग	1989-1990
पी.व्ही. नरसिंह राव	1990-1991
मनमोहन सिंग	1991-1996
इंदरकुमार गुजराल	1997-1998
अटलबिहारी वाजपेयी	<mark>1998-2</mark> 004
मनमोहन सिंग	2004-2014
नरेंद्र मोदी	2014-2015

#### **Planning Commission Objective**

The Planning Commission of India had several objectives, which were aimed at achieving the overall goal of promoting economic development and social welfare in the country. These objectives evolved over time, as the commission's role and priorities changed with different five-year plans. Here are some of the key objectives of the Planning Commission:

Balanced and Equitable Economic Growth: The commission aimed to promote balanced and equitable economic growth across different sectors and regions of the country. This meant reducing regional disparities, promoting the growth of underdeveloped areas, and ensuring that the benefits of development reached all sections of society.





Efficient Resource Allocation: The commission aimed to allocate resources efficiently and effectively, ensuring that the available resources were used optimally to achieve the desired goals. This involved identifying priority sectors, assessing resource requirements, and allocating funds accordingly.

Employment Generation: The commission aimed to promote employment generation through various policies and programs. This included promoting labour-intensive industries, improving skills and education, and providing incentives for job creation in different sectors.

Poverty Alleviation: The commission aimed to reduce poverty and improve the standard of living of the people, particularly those from disadvantaged and marginalized communities. This involved promoting inclusive growth, providing social safety nets, and implementing targeted programs for poverty alleviation.

Infrastructure Development: The commission aimed to promote the development of infrastructure, such as roads, railways, ports, and airports, to support economic growth and social development. This involved identifying key infrastructure projects, assessing their feasibility, and providing necessary funding and support.

Agricultural Development: The commission aimed to promote agricultural development, recognizing the sector's importance in providing food security, creating employment opportunities, and supporting rural livelihoods. This involved promoting agricultural research, providing agricultural inputs and credit, and improving market access for farmers.