

Sahitya Akademi Awards 2022

The Sahitya Akademi Awards is a literary award given to writers of various genres by the Sahitya Akademi annually. The Sahitya Akademi is India's National Academy of Letters sponsored by the Government of India. Established in 1954, the Sahitya Akademi Awards comprises a plaque and a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000. The plaque of the Sahitya Akademi Awards was designed by the legendary filmmaker Satyajit Ray.

Sahitya Akademi Awards Overview

Sahitya Akademi was set up by the Government of India, however, it functions as an autonomous organisation. For further details on Sahitya Akademi Awards, refer to the following table.

Particulars	Details
Name of Award	Sahitya Akademi Awards
Established	12 March 1954
First Time Conferred in	1955
Number of Languages	24 Languages
Set Up By	Government of India
Type of Organisation	Autonomous Organisation

What are Sahitya Akademi Awards?

Sahitya Akademi Awards are the highest and greatest honoured conferred on writers for their contribution to the world of literature. The Sahitya Akademi Award is given to 22 languages included in the Eight Schedule of the Constitution of India as well as in English and Rajasthani. The literary works in these 24 languages are analysed and evaluated in various parameters while being appreciated for their outstanding merit and excellence.

List of Sahitya Akademi Awards Winners

The Sahitya Akademi Awards were announced on 22nd December 2022. The candidates who are preparing for the GOvernment teaching exams must read the following table to know about the winners of the Sahitya Akademi Awards.

Sahitya Akademi Awards, List of Winners			
Language	Title and Genre	Name of the Author	
Assamese	Bhool Satya (Short Stories)	Manoj Kumar Goswami	
Bodo	Sansrini Modira (Poetry)	Rashmi Choudhury	
Dogri	Chhe Roopak (Drama)	Veena Gupta	
English	All The Lives We Never Lived (Novel)	Anuradha Roy	

Gujarati	Gher Jatan (Autobiographical Essays)	Gulam Mohammad Shaikh
Hindi	Tumadi Ke Shabd (Poetry)	Badri Narayan
Kannada	Bahutvada Bhaarata mattu Bouddha Taatvikate (Collection of Articles)	Mudnakudu Chinnaswamy
Kashmiri	Zael Dab (Literary Criticism)	Farooq Fayaz
Konkani	Amrutvel (Novel)	Maya Anil Kharangate
Maithili	Pen-Drive Me Prithvi (Poetry)	Ajit Azad
Malayalam	Ashaante Seethayanam (Literary Criticism)	M. Thomas Mathew
Manipuri	Leironnung (Poetry)	Koijam Shantibala
Marathi	Ujavya Sondechya Bahulya (Novel)	Praveen Dashrath Bandekar
Nepali	Saino (Drama)	K.B. Nepali
Odia	Dayanadi (Poetry)	Gayatribala Panda
Punjabi	Main Aynghosh Nahi (Short Stories)	Sukhjit
Rajasthani	Alekhun Amba (Play)	Kamal Ranga
Sanskrit	Deepmanikyam (Poetry)	Janardan Prasad Pandey 'Mani'
Santali	Sabarnaka Balire Sanan' Panjay (Poetry)	Kajli Soren (Jagannath Soren)
Sindhi	Sindhi Sahit Jo Mukhtasar Itihas (Literary History)	Kanhaiyalal Lekhwani
Tamil	Kaala Paani (Novel)	M. Rajendran
Telugu	Manodharmaparagam (Novel)	Madhuranthakam Narendra
Urdu	Khwab Saraab (Novel)	Anis Ashfaq